Stop, Silence, Don’t Bother me!

This may be the most important recipe you make in your holiday plans this season.

Ingredients:

  1. Quiet
  2. Time

Instruction: Mix both together and have a portion ever day!

I’m not kidding. Add in these ingredients to your day, EVERY DAY!

  1. quiet – truly take time not to talk, listen or hear. use this time to calm yourself. Initially, a pen and paper may be needed to note some thoughts for later time slots. Try to be still, empty your thoughts. Smell the air. Feel your body, muscles, circulation, skin.
  2. time
    • me – do something for yourself.
    • you – do something for someone else. Kindness toward others is genuinely beneficial for self.
    • us – do something with another person that adds value to your lives.

4-Reasons-to-leave-marginA couple of months ago, I took a suggestion from a twitter-tweet titled Four (4) Reasons to Leave Margin in Your Schedule, by Mike Burns, and learned a valuable lesson. I am terrible at balancing self-care,  time-management and needs/wants of others.

Mike-Headshot-for-sidebar-with-name

These are my notes: (copy and paste from Mike’s post)

  • What’s margin? Margin is blank space…It’s the concept of leaving open slots in your day where you don’t put any appointments.
  • Why?
    • because stuff happens
    • it lessens stress
    • it promotes creativity
    • it forces you to prioritize

The benefit of these margin insertions in my calendar has been less stress, more patience, proper self care, and appropriate attention to the stuff that happens.

A simple case-study: Margin has allowed me to eat lunch, bathe (there were days when I sadly didn’t make time), rest (on days when I’m under the weather) and take a friend’s call without needing to rush them.

I use an electronic calendar and I have automatically repeated these appointments so that the priorities remain in-line every day. If you don’t use an electronic calendar, I suggest a break from your busy life to mark these times on every day (me:, you: and us:) These are important items to incorporate into your life. If not, life goes by without us and we find ourselves un-bathed, poorly fed or connecting with friends after months or years of no contact. This isn’t healthy. We’re worth the time.

Capture_JeffGoinsHeader

In Josh Irby’s guest post: “Shut Up, I’m Writing!” on Jeff Goins’ blog, I learned some tips on how to keep quiet. Daily, I find myself writing and living with the suggestions I hear from Jeff and his tribe of co-contributors and those that are slowing down to succeed. I have happily joined a community that strives to slow down and pay attention to what really matters in life. I read these posts to enhance my writing and my living.

These are the facts (read Josh’s post to get the full story):

  • There are always questions to answer, teammates to encourage, problems to solve.
  • There are three voices that will drown out my [life] if I don’t control them.
    • The Critic, say Thank You and tell them they’re “not needed right now.”
    • The Cynic, say Thank You and tell them they’re “not welcome.”
    • The Doubter, say Thank You “for caring about [me] so much … Then tell [them] plainly, ‘Some things are worth getting hurt over.’ “

The response to the Doubter. Let’s talk about this for a second. Thank you for caring. I’m going to do it anyway. I know it may hurt. This is just great! Whether, we say this to an outsider or to our self to a thought inside our brain or heart. Emotional, intellectual and physical fitness all follow the same type of no-pain-no-gain philosophy. We have to stretch ourselves in order to get into new places and rise up to new levels of skill and success. We almost always will gain when we thoughtfully walk right through middle of fear. 

This chart/calendar may be helpful for you to get started.

Nov. 17
quiet
me
you
us
18
quiet
me
you
us
19
quiet
me
you
us
20
quiet
me
you
us
21
quiet
me
you
us
22
quiet
me
you
us
23
quiet
me
you
us
24
quiet
me
you
us
25
quiet
me
you
us
26
quiet
me
you
us
27
quiet
me
you
us
28
quiet
me
you
us
29
quiet
me
you
us
30
quiet
me
you
us
Dec. 1
quiet
me
you
us
2
quiet
me
you
us
3
quiet
me
you
us
4
quiet
me
you
us
5
quiet
me
you
us
6
quiet
me
you
us
7
quiet
me
you
us
8
quiet
me
you
us
9
quiet
me
you
us
10
quiet
me
you
us
11
quiet
me
you
us
12
quiet
me
you
us
13
quiet
me
you
us
14
quiet
me
you
us
15
quiet
me
you
us
16
quiet
me
you
us
17
quiet
me
you
us
18
quiet
me
you
us
19
quiet
me
you
us
20
quiet
me
you
us
21
quiet
me
you
us
22
quiet
me
you
us
23
quiet
me
you
us
24
quiet
me
you
us
25
quiet
me
you
us
26
quiet
me
you
us
27
quiet
me
you
us
28
quiet
me
you
us
29
quiet
me
you
us
30
quiet
me
you
us
31
quiet
me
you
us
Jan. 1, ’14
quiet
me
you
us
2
quiet
me
you
us
3
quiet
me
you
us
4
quiet
me
you
us

Make time. Live life. Enjoy Yourself!

Leave a Reply

