Ed Hyder’s Mediterranean Marketplace

My years are solidly marked by food. I am a well-loved child of hard-working parents. Dad and Mom equally shared cooking and menu planning responsibilities in our house and dinner was often elaborate. Never were meals labelled boring, nor do I recall my sister or myself begging or even asking for something else. Jennifer and I were often begging for meals from our own top-ten lists. Foods like Mom’s Macaroni and Cheese, Dad’s Meatloaf, Mom’s Tuna Noodle Casserole, Dad’s Meatballs and Sausage, Mom’s Chicken and Rice Casserole or Ma Hensel’s bow-tie pasta. All these foods feed the soul in the way that everything that I buy at Ed Hyder’s does.

Life today has food contingencies, too, but they’re more whole body healthy than the dishes mentioned above. Eating healthy is labor intensive and costly if you want to do it every day, unless you can share or prep in bulk. I have a pretty cool way of doing this that also helps my wallet. My secret: shopping at some special-specialty shoppes. The feature of my post today is one of them.

Life isn’t right if I don’t have my every-other week trip to Ed Hyder’s. This week, I stocked up on my staple items:

  1. Beet, Feta, Basil and Red Quinoa Salad
  2. Stuffed Grape Leaves
  3. Chicken and Dill Salad
  4. Cucumber Salas with Feta, Red Onion, Bell Peppers and Cherry Tomatos
  5. Tabooley
  6. Hoomus

2013-10-02 15.45.502013-10-02 15.45.38 2013-10-02 15.45.43  2013-10-02 15.45.57

Ed Hyder’s is a family business that knows my definition of family; they’re attentive, kind and helpful. Each and every employee is quick with a smile and answers every question with the same enthusiasm as the first time they were asked. The foods that I pictured here are TO-DIE-FOR. No doubt. I refer to the Beet Salad as my iced cream. I was so serious about the Beet Salad that two people returned to the counter to test my insistence. The stuffed grape leaves are only second to My Sandie’s grape leaves and the chicken salad is delicious with crackers, fresh bread – with or without cheese – or just on a plastic fork at the first traffic light after exiting the parking lot. No Joking here, my loyal friends. I love this store. Ed himself remembers me and is very kind with information. The entire Ed Hyder’s Family is excellent.

The store stocks a full array of hard to find spices, flavorings (dry and liquid), coffee, tea, pasta, wine, cheese, olives, beautiful ka-bobs and complete-ready-to-cook roasts. They also help with party planning, platters and specialty orders, too!

To reward myself for completing this report to you, my friends, I’m going to eat two grape leaves. (It’ll be a healthy snack.)

Have a great week and when you’re in Worcester, please pick up a few treats at  Ed Hyder’s.

If you live in Worcester County, follow them on Facebook for specials and big deals.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

